Custom Baby Onesies

Consider me a fan. A huge, gigantic, monsterous, humongous, fan! Of the Silhouette of course! The past few days I’ve put it to good use putting together some gifts for friends so I thought I would share my first project with the new favorite piece of tech equipment in our house (sorry, thunderbolt display, but you’ve been replaced…)

cover 2

So, what was our first project on this fantastic piece of crafting magic? Freezer paper stencils! A perfect rainy day project if you ask me… although all of my projects lately seem to be “rainy day” projects because that’s all we’ve been getting- RAIN! (On a side note, that’s why all of the photos are just a little off, we’ve barely seen the sunshine around here lately)

So here’s what I used to create some really cute custom onesies!

  • Silhouette Cameo! (This isn’t a must have, you can cut out your stencil by hand, this just makes it SO much easier!)
  • 5 pack of Gerber 3-6 month onesies
  • Martha Stewart Craft Paint
  • Martha Stewart Stenciling Brushes

First things first, find your design that you want to use. I used a design from the Silhouette Studio to make things easier (I haven’t quite ventured into the “make your own design” phase yet… but soon!) I used this design, which was perfect for a baby- and perfect for me since it’s a design for personal use only.

PicMonkey CollageNow, since this design wasn’t symmetrical, I made sure to flip the designs horizontally… This also has to do with how I loaded my freezer paper in the Silhouette. Since the adhesive side of the the freezer paper is the shiny side, I placed it on my mat shiny side up. Got it? I was printing backwards. Sort of.

There’s a bit of debate as to which side to cut on for freezer paper since it’s not a listed medium on the Silhouette. Some have had success printing shiny side up (like me) and some have had success printing shiny side down (if you print shiny side down, there is no need to flip the images). You just have to play around with the settings on your own Silhouette to find out what works best. Thankfully, I only needed one test run to make sure I was on the right track- but I think that’s just because I have a brand spanking new blade…

Speaking of blades, I went with Lauren’s suggestion of using a blade 3, speed 3, thickness of 10 for this. I also found that Gabby’s suggestion of blade 2, speed 3, thickness 10 would also work for this as well, but again, that’s probably because I’m working with a new blade… There’s lots of different opinions out there about what works best, just try it out until you find your sweet spot!

Once it was finished cutting, I pulled off my designs  carefully and began to lay them out in the correct positions on the onesies.

onesies 1Making sure the shiny side was down, I used my iron to iron them in place. I used a warm, dry iron for this. You don’t want to have the steam option on for this, you don’t want to get the paper wet! Either turn of the steam setting or empty the iron of water before you start.

I did have a few intricate pieces that needed a little extra attention before I ironed them in place, but it all worked out fairly well.

onesie 2Once they we’re all adhered to the onesies, it was time to paint! Before I started ironing, I slipped a paper lunch bag into the onesies to keep things from sticking together and paint from bleeding through when I painted… The paper bags were the perfect size!

paint and brushesI used the Martha Stewart Crafts paint for the onesies, it’s fabric safe and it doesn’t smell like some other acrylics can. Plus, they had super cute peal and metallic colors perfect for little girls! I used Pink Taffeta, Rose Gold, and Purple Eclipse (I think that was the name of the purple…). And the Martha Stewart brushes are fantastic for stenciling as well- I’m glad I picked those up!

onesies 3I then added the paint in a stippling motion- aka up and down rapidly. I did go back over places as they dried to places that looked like the coverage was a little thin.

Then the waiting game. I gave each onesie 6-7 hours to dry before I heat seat them with my iron.

onesies 4After I did a bit of Google-ing, I found that the best way to heat set the Martha Stewart craft paint was to either iron it on a medium-high dry setting, face up, with a bit of spare fabric in between the iron and onesie, pressing for 30 seconds all the sections were covered. Or, you could flip the onesie inside out, place it in the dryer on the highest setting for 30  minutes.

So I did both. I wanted to make sure the stenciled areas weren’t going anywhere anytime soon! A bit of over kill, yes. But I’m assuming they will be washed a lot, so I wanted to be extra sure!

onesies 5Adorable, right?

As you can really tell in this picture, we’ve been dealing with a lot of rain and thunderstorms in our neck of the woods. That’s why it’s so overcast and cloudy… maybe once the sun shines I can get some better photos…

But, still. Adorable in my book. This little girl is going to be rocking some pretty cute onesies! I did end up making two more to complete the 5 pack set that I bought, that are going to a beautiful set of twin girls!

cover 2

 

3 thoughts on “Custom Baby Onesies

  1. Yay! I’m so glad to hear (and SEE) that you had such a successful first foray into freezer paper stenciling AND Silhoeutte-ting. The onesies are adorable; I love the words on this set, and so will the expecting parents! Glad that you were able to reference my tutorial, too, for settings; yeah, it definitely depends on the blade and sometimes the whims of your machine which setting works best…so I’m glad you landed on one that worked for you.

    • Your tutorial was super helpful! I did end up lowering the settings again, since my blade is still so new, but I would have been lost without your help!

      I’ve definitely got the bug now! My new motto is “Have Silhouette, will craft”! There’s so many possibilities, I can barely sit still!

  2. Pingback: Reader Showcase: A Look Back at Spring 2014 — the thinking closet

Leave a Reply

