Extreme Makeover, Cabinet Edition (Part One)

Ever have one of those project that you think you have everything you need to accomplish said project, and then, right when you’re in the homestretch, you run out of something? And that something is the one item that takes a bit of time to track down, delaying said project even more?

Well folks, that’s exactly what happened to me this weekend.

935243_416591185114948_1718282320_nYou all remember this photo right? Back from May of 2013? Yes, May of 2013, almost a year ago. I gifted my mom a computer cabinet makeover for Mother’s Day. This cabinet had been in the “raw wood” phase for oh, about 10 years or so when they bought it with the purpose of finishing it themselves. Well, that never happened, because, well you know, life happens and stuff! So this weekend we set out to finish this project that was 10 years in the making!

417838_418066974967369_1566931745_nSo, as soon as we took that cabinet apart (which took no time at all!) we got straight to work!

DSC_0978First came the sanding, We opted to use our handy dandy palm sander for the majority of the cabinet with 100 grit sandpaper (it had never been finished, not even a clear coat, so we didn’t need much to get started) and then switched to our Dremel tool with the sander attachment to get into the hard to reach places and those that needed a bit more elbow grease. It was a pretty windy day so I made sure to wear some eye protection, thanks to my sun glasses, and probably should have been wearing a face mask, but hey, hindsight is 20/20 after all!

I then wiped down each piece (this cabinet has a bunch of different pieces that slide in and out for keyboards and extra workspace…  I’ll get more pictures once it’s finished) to remove the dust from all the sanding to prep it for the stain.

The stain my mom chose was Mastercraft’s Heritage Green, and it’s a gel stain which was new for me. And I don’t know if they stopped making it, or if it’s just not a popular brand to carry, it’s a challenge finding more of it in our area (So, if you’re in the central Ohio area, and know where we can find some of this, let us know! Pretty please, with sugar on top!).

DSC_0985

I was surprised at how easily the stain went on, I basically stuck a cotton cloth in the can and rubbed it into the wood, going with the grain of course, and then went back to wipe off any excess. I did opt to wear some rubber gloves, because I didn’t really want to look like Elphaba just yet…

And then, just when I hit the half-way point, I ran out of stain. Sad day, folks. After a good 4+ hours into this project I came to a screeching halt and was unable to finish the work.

And that’s where we have to leave it until I track some of that magic green stain down and get back to work. If all else fails, that ebay listing will have to come to us, but that’s the last option. I’m determined to find some here in town. It is my mission this week! Until then, this project will stay in limbo for the time being…

What have you guys been up to? We’re still working away on our big announcement, and hopefully by the end of this week we’ll have something to show you guys! As well as more photos of the big cabinet makeover! We’ve got some big things in the fire, and can’t wait to show them to you!

2 thoughts on “Extreme Makeover, Cabinet Edition (Part One)

    • It was a total bummer getting to the bottom of that second can of stain!

      Thankfully, we were able to track more down last night- apparently Mastercraft is no longer in business- that’s why we had trouble tracking it down!

      Definitely try the gel stain, SO much easier than the traditional stuff! Consider me officially converted to a gel girl!

Leave a Reply

