You are my Sunshine!

Last week, completely by surprise, I was nominated for the “Sunshine Blogger Award”! After not blogging for a month or so, it was a really sweet welcome back and I truly appreciate the nomination and the support! It’s always reaffirming to know that people enjoy what you write and share- that I’m not just wasting my time here- because I do truly enjoy it and hope to continue to share our story with all of you lovely, wonderful, one-of-a-kind readers! So, without too much blabbering away, I would like to thank Alison Brickman makes it work for the nomination, it was the greatest “welcome back” surprise I could have imagined!

SO. Now that all of that mushy-gushy stuff has been taken care of, let’s get down to business!

Rules for this award are:

  1. Share 11 facts about yourself
  2. Answer the 11 questions asked by your nominator
  3. Include 11 questions for your nominees
  4. Notify your nominees about your post!

Pretty simple, right? So what are 11 facts about myself that I haven’t shared…

  1. I giggle like a school girl at Monty Python. All of them. They are my absolute favorite.
  2. We just purchased FitBits at the beginning of the year, needless to say I am addicted! Have to get those 10,000 steps per day in!
  3. Speaking of 10,000 steps, I have officially just registered for my first ever 10K! Shouldn’t be too hard, right?!
  4. My favorite project that I have created thus far, is my map covered side table! I love that I found it while antiquing with my cousin and Grandma, and I love that it’s next to my reading chair (also from my Grandma!)! It’s definitely my favorite piece of furniture in the house!
  5. I have recently discovered that I love pistachios. They might be my new go-to snack food, and you can bet I’ll be stashing those like a squirrel for road trips!
  6. I was a beta tester for Pinterest! It was pretty neat!
  7. I’m pretty much a zombie in the morning until I have some coffee and get moving. I only answer my husband in grunts, groans, and sighs until then. Lucky for me, my husband thinks it’s pretty darn cute!
  8. My husband was the first person to introduce me to wine, and now, I’m hooked!
  9. I like to collect cook books- and even use them from time to time. I love the photography and creativity that goes into them and think they are an under-appreciated art form!
  10. My first car was a 1994 Saturn SL-1 that was almost older than I was! His name was Wallace and I do miss him dearly!
  11. Since my husband taught me to drive standard, it’s the only kind of car I’ll drive now!

Now for the questions my nominator asked me…

  1. The last meal I cooked at home was a Frisco Melt, just like at Steak and Shake! Boy, were they delicious!
  2. When I was a kid, I had no idea what I wanted to be when I grew up- it was everything from a tight rope walker or artist to a professional athlete or lawyer.
  3. I was never really into boy bands growing up that I can remember, but I do know that I owned N’SYNC and Back Street Boys CD’s growing up.
  4. Best craft item ever… well I already told you that my favorite thing I created was my little side table… but my favorite craft item to work with is my sewing machine
  5. Gosh, I don’t even know where I would spend $5,000… maybe I would buy some more work out gear for me and some techie thing for my husband (or maybe even a fancy air compressor…) but other than that, I don’t really know what I would spend it on…
  6. My guilty pleasure TV show has got to be M*A*S*H, for sure. Whenever re-runs are on, you can bet I’ll be watching!
  7. I honestly have no idea what “42” is the answer to. Consider me baffled. Making a mental note to Google it later…
  8. Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday ever. What better way to spend the day than to remember all that you’re thankful for- and no, I’m not one of those crazy Black Friday Shoppers, I like to spend my Black Friday on the couch digesting!
  9. If I could have grown up in any decade, I would still pick the late 80’s- early 90’s. It was pretty great to be a kid then!
  10. I wish I could sing. Two of my siblings are great at it, and I am a little envious of their talents!
  11. My favorite medium to work with is definitely wood. I always enjoy a good wood grain and love the natural warmth it brings to a room whenever it’s incorporated!

Next, the questions for my nominees!

  1. Are you a dog or cat person (or neither!)!?
  2. What is your favorite recipe to cook?
  3. What inspired you to start blogging?
  4. If you could visit anywhere in the world, where would it be, and why?
  5. What feature is a “must have” in a home for you?
  6. What cheers you up on a gloomy day?
  7. To this date, what would you consider to be your greatest accomplishment?
  8. Who would win in a comic book battle: Batman or Superman?
  9. In your opinion, what is the best way to spend a Saturday night?
  10. Red or white wine? Or neither?
  11. Chalk or dry erase?

And now, it’s time for my nominations for the Sunshine Award! Drum roll please….!

  1. Natalie of Doses of Design
  2. Emily of Beautiful Hello
  3. Noel of Living the Dream
  4. Taun of TaunsDIY
Leave a Reply

