Gingerbread Cookies

cover

This, my friends, is (in my opinion) the most delicious cookie recipe ever in the history of all time. Seriously. And that is saying a lot, because I never used to like gingerbread cookies until I came across this recipe and whipped them up for my dear sweet husband. Now, I just can’t get enough of them. Each year I will make 3-4 batches of these cookies, and they seem to disappear before our very eyes.

Over the long weekend, Josh convinced me to start the holiday baking marathon a little early, and boy am I glad that he did because now we have these delicious cookies to devour enjoy for the next few days! These gingerbread cookies are hands down my favorite cookie, and I wish I could find where I got the original recipe from because they need a hug. Or a high five. Or be tackled to the ground in a completely loving way. Your choice.

Gingerbread Cookies   (makes about 3-4 dozen cookies)

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 tsp. ground cloves
  • 2 tsp. ground ginger
  • 1 tsp. ground nutmeg
  • 16 tbsp. unsalted butter at room temperature
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup molasses
  • 1 large egg

Directions:

  1. In a large bowl, whisk together flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, cloves, ginger, and nutmeg until combined and set aside.
  2. In a separate bowl (I used my stand mixer with the paddle attachment, but you can just as easily use a hand mixer), cream together butter and sugar at a medium-high speed until light and fluffy, about 2 minutes.
  3. Mix the molasses and egg into the sugar-egg mixture until well combined.
  4. Slowly incorporate the dry mixture until combined.
  5. Cover the bowl and refrigerate for at least an hour.
  6. Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees.
  7. Roll out the dough on a lightly floured surface, until about 1/4″ thick and use cookie cutters to cut dough into desired shapes.
  8. Place cut-outs onto baking sheets about 2″ apart and bake for 10 minutes.
  9. Remove from oven and cool.
  10. Once completely cooled, decorate as desired and enjoy!

563763_10151274725474194_1003598723_nYum! Yum! Yum! These cookies have that wonderful spice flavor, but are nice and soft/chewy, and I know we can never seem to get enough of them! They’re pretty spectacular! I think this year I might give some away as gifts once I decorate them with some pretty royal icing. The great thing with these cookies you ask? They’re just as great without icing too! Not to mention, they go great with a cup of coffee in the morning, too! (another useful tip: if you are worried that your cookies might dry out- place a piece of bread at the bottom of the container- it will keep your cookies nice and soft!) Breakfast of holiday shopping champions everywhere!

Have you started holiday baking yet? I really want to go to or host some sort of holiday cookie party or something this year… but with the shortened season, it might have to wait until next year. Tear. But in the mean time, I’m going to enjoy these fantastic cookies, and then dive head first into the rest of our holiday baking extravaganza!

3 thoughts on “Gingerbread Cookies

  1. Pingback: Mug o’ love | joyosphere

  2. Pingback: One Year | joyosphere

Leave a Reply

