Stairway to Heaven

1379350_499408350166564_1466733074_n

Well. Almost. Okay, not really at all, but that’s not the point here. The point is that the whole stairwell makeover project is finished with stage one!  Yippee! After one week, three different paints, and a dozen trips to Home Depot, we can check this little project off of our to-do list!

I’ll be the first to admit that this project took a lot of patience on my part. A LOT of patience. Taping and re-taping the treads and strings depending on what was being painted. Priming and painting the walls. Gathering the courage to climb a ladder… fear of heights, right here people! So I for one, am glad that this paint extravaganza is over, because I’m getting a little too used to finding paint over all of my arms when we’re out in public…

So, let’s take a look at how this little spot began:

DSC_0435

Dusty, dirty, and a little spooky, right? Not at all inviting to the space below. We definitely needed to clean up our act as far as this stairwell was concerned. If you remember, last week we left you all with a little teaser of what was to come…

DSC_0467

Still a far cry from what we hoped to accomplish here. But it was a pretty good start. But, let’s get to the good stuff, the stuff you really want to see…
DSC_0496

The finished product!

DSC_0502

I feel like dancing! It turned out better than I thought it would… I know, I know, I’m a bit of a skeptic. But look how wonderful it is! The stair treads and landing are painted the same with the same paint as our basement floor, which we had left over from our basement makeover from this summer. After two coats, it covered pretty well and makes the plywood look so much more uniform (… and a bit nicer to be honest). The primer we also already had on hand from when they built the house. So the only real cost for this project (so far…!) was the paint for the walls. The color is “Snowmelt” by Behr in eggshell. It looked a bit like cotton candy when we painted it on, but it darkened just enough to have a cool-blue color on the wall. The photos simply don’t do it justice. I also decided that it’s the perfect color for a boy’s nursery. If anyone out there is looking for that…

I did find myself for a few hours touching up a lot of spots with a fine tipped paintbrush where the paint bled through the tape, so, that sucked. But the end product is worth the extra hassle, it definitely didn’t look as crisp as it does now in our opinion.

The Chinese script above the landing was actually a wedding gift from Josh’s brother who lives in Shanghai, and is the passage from Joshua, “As for me and my house, we shall serve the Lord.” We haven’t quite had the wall space to hang it anywhere yet, but with this space, I can add a whole lot more of our picture frames that haven’t quite found a home. Plus, I love the black and white of the script and frame on the blue wall, it just reminds me of the 1950’s.

DSC_0497Now, half of the stair case doesn’t have molding yet, and that probably won’t come until after we’re ready to take the plunge and fully finish the basement and we put carpet on the stairs, but this suits our needs perfectly right now.

The next project I have my eye on however, goes with the ledge where our cinder block foundation meets the drywall.

DSC_0494How nice would that look with a little shelf and some molding around it? It would just be a sort of cap to put over that unfinished edge, something not too big, but to help make the space look a little bit more finished, you know what I mean? Of course you do!

DSC_0494Pretty nice, right?

So that’s in the plans for now. I also would like to go and caulk all the seems in the existing molding to make it look like one seamless piece.That’s for later days though…

What have you guys been doing lately? Fill us in on it! Conquering fears? Clearly, I’m one of those people who aren’t afraid to add come color, but I am definitely afraid of heights. Or are you guys just trying not to eat all the Halloween candy (because that’s totally me…!).

1424449_503268639780535_1347630197_n

We hope you all have a safe, fun (and DRY!!) Halloween!!

2 thoughts on “Stairway to Heaven

  1. Pingback: ‘Tis the Season | joyosphere

  2. Pingback: Oops, we did it again! | joyosphere

Leave a Reply

