Cleaning out the Closets, Part Two

DSC_0005

For the past couple of weeks we’ve been working on cleaning out our closets. Last time we tackled our master closet so for our next adventure in  Organization-Land, it was off to the front hall closet. We have been using this closet as a sort of “catch all” for everything under the sun, and it was getting hard to find things in there! It was about time I got on organizing it!

But, I wanted to do this one a little differently. Instead of going out and buying all new organizers and accessories, I wanted to do it with things that we already had on hand. This could have gone terribly horrible for me, but I think the challenge was beneficial at the same time. You all know, I love a good deal, so free sounds pretty darn good to me!

DSC_0002

Of course, the first thing I did was to draw out a plan of how I wanted it to look. I took stock of everything that I wanted to go in the closet. What can I say, I’m a list-maker and a planner. This step was important for me, because otherwise I would have just tried to cram everything back in there. The list helped me to narrow down what was actually needed and took all of 5 minutes to do.

DSC_0014For my next step, you guessed it. I took everything out of the closet. I mean e-v-e-r-y-t-h-i-n-g. I wanted a blank canvas to work with and the only way that would happen was if the closet had been completely emptied out. Not to mention I had no idea what I would find in that deep, dark, abyss… As I was taking everything out, I placed everything into piles by function- extra blankets, extra seating (yes, those are lawn chairs… we’re classy folks like that!), coats, decorative items, winter wear, electronics, various accessories, and games… along with our Nerf guns! So yes, there was was way more “stuff” in the closet than I had anticipated. But on the bright side, I had a nice empty closet!

DSC_0023We had this canvas storage bins on hand from a couple of years ago that used to live under our console table. They were getting a bit out of hand there so I decided to use them for storage in the closet instead. Based on my list I added games and such to one, winter wear to another, and bags & accessories to another. I went a head and added a 4th bin (my original plan only called for 3…) and added camera and TV supplies to it (3D glasses, remotes, etc.).

DSC_0024Since we wouldn’t be able to see what was in the bins, I knew we needed some way to label them for easier use. I had a bunch of these heavy card stock tags downstairs in my stash of crafty-ness that I had intended to use for our summer receptions but never did. They would be perfect for the canvas bins. I labeled each one and attached it to it’s bin and put them on the shelf.

DSC_0027Needless to say, it worked out pretty well. Usually I’m a fan of clear bins just because you can see the contents. But these canvas bins were perfect because they look a little bit nicer (so that your guests don’t know what’s hidden in them) and I already had them on hand- for free!

DSC_0030Then it was time to add all of the rest of the items to the closet. Only the essentials that I had outlined in my list first. As for everything else, it was either thrown away, donated, or moved to a more appropriate spot in the house (as in the lawn chairs are no longer in the closet, they made their way back to the garage…). I also decided to move Levi’s crate into the closet as well, it works a little bit better in here since we use the front door to go for walks and such, not the sliding door in the dining room.

DSC_0033Now this is what our front closet looks like when the door is opened! No more piles of clutter to sort through when you open the door, everything nice and organized in their own little bin. To the left of the door is where our vacuum and steam mop live, and to the right side is where our cache of extra blankets are (in a clear plastic tote). Let’s take a look at the before….

DSC_0006Yikes. Scary right?

DSC_0033So much better.

What you can’t see in these photos is that the ceiling of the closet goes up another 3 feet! Crazy talk, I know! I think eventually if we’re living here when we have monsters little ones running around, we might add another shelf above the one we have currently since there is more than enough space for it. But since it’s just the two of us (and the pooch) we don’t need all that space yet and it’ll be good to tap into later instead of using it all up now!

So for the low, low price of free we totally made over and cleaned out our front hall closet. Pretty neat right?? I’m going to have to start doing things like this for free! I’m sure Josh will love that too! For now though, we’re just going to focus on the office and office closet to see what we can do in there (maybe even for free!!). This whole free thing has got me going! Repurposing and making old things new is totally my jam. That I’ve realized. What have you guys got going on? Any office organizational tips for us? We’d love to here ’em!

14 thoughts on “Cleaning out the Closets, Part Two

  1. Hey! Someone in my Facebook group shared this site with us so I came to check
    it out. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to
    my followers! Terrific blog and excellent design and style.

  2. Hey would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re using?
    I’m going to start my own blog in the near future
    but I’m having a difficult time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.

    The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and
    I’m looking for something completely unique. P.S Apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!

  3. I leave a response when I especially enjoy a post on a site or
    I have something to add to the discussion. Usually it is caused by the passion communicated in the post
    I looked at. And after this article Cleaning out the Closets,
    Part Two | joyosphere. I was moved enough to drop a thought 🙂 I do have 2 questions for you if you usually do not mind.
    Is it just me or do some of the comments come across like they are coming from brain dead folks?
    😛 And, if you are posting at additional online sites, I would
    like to keep up with you. Would you make a list all of your community pages like your twitter
    feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

  4. Hey there would you mind stating which blog platform you’re working with?
    I’m going to start my own blog soon but I’m having a hard time deciding between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask is because your design seems different then most blogs and
    I’m looking for something completely unique. P.S My apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!

  5. It is in reality a nice and useful piece of info. I’m happy that you just shared this useful information with us.
    Please stay us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

