Mission: Organization

DSC_0038

For the past 9 months I’ve been sharing a closet with my wonderful husband (wow, can you believe it’s been 9 months already!?!), and I’m sure you’re all rolling your eyes at me because I’m sure there are plenty of you out there who share closet space with someone. This is still a somewhat new concept for me, since the last time I had to share a closet with someone, I was in 5th grade and I was sharing it with my sister.

DSC_0034Technically we have a “walk-in closet” but it’s not all that spacious and it’s pretty cramped in there ever since we said “I do”. For this reason, Josh keeps most of his formal attire in the office closet which is all fine and dandy, but I have quickly realized that trying to hang his ties are a pain in my rear end. Seriously, it’s a pain. Our current method of keeping ties in a wearable state has been to just put them on a felt hanger (to keep it from sliding) and hanging it with the rest of his dress shirts and suits. This screams “bachelor-hood” to me, so I set off to remedy this sad, sad, situation and after perusing Pinterest for some inspiration pieces (such as this, this, and this) I was all set to go!

DSC_0004-1

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 2 x 2 of some sort (we picked up a 2 x 2 x 8)
  • 2 Dowel rods of your desired thickness
  • Paint color of your choice
  • Drill and drill bits
  • Saw (we just used a hand saw)
  • Sander or sandpaper
  • Extra: we picked up some cheap wood drawer pulls for belt storage

DSC_0006

First thing we did was to cut our 2 x 2 to the length we needed, opting for a 32″ long tie rack so we could hang ties every 2 inches. Since it was only 2″ thick, Josh muscled through it with our hand saw in a miter box for a straight cut… If we could find the charger for our little circular saw, we would have whipped out that bad boy.

DSC_0012I was up next, to do some quick sanding around the ends and edges. I wanted to make sure none of the fabric from Josh’s ties could catch on anything and potentially ruin them.

PicMonkey Collage1Once all the cutting and sanding was completed, I marked where our holes would go using a speed square. I marked off every 2 inches on the lumber and drew a line indicating the center of the wood. Where those 2 lines intersected was where we drilled our holes.

Using our drill we drilled holes large enough for our dowel rods to fit in snugly. While Josh was drilling through the board, I cut our dowel rods to length, each one being 9″ each using the hand saw and miter box. We used a hand saw because we were afraid that using a multi-tool would split the dowels.

DSC_0018We then inserted all the dowels into the holes, going back with the drill as necessary if a dowel didn’t quite fit.

DSC_0021-1Once all the dowels were in place I hammered them into place with some finish nails to keep them from spinning out of control of place.

DSC_0023

We also added some cheap wooden drawer pulls to hang belts from as well. Heck, they were only 99 cents, so why not? Fabulous, right?

tumblr_mscygclrij1rnddd4o1_500

source

Once Josh added the drawer pulls, it was time to bust out some paint!

DSC_0024Using my little homemade spray paint booth (aka a really big box) I busted out my trusty Rusteolum Paint and Primer in one spray paint in white and went to work. Since there were so many different angles and whatnot with this bad boy, I made sure to turn it 90 degrees after each coat to make sure everything was covered. After 3 coats of the spray paint and plenty of time to cure, I did a quick poly coat, just to protect it from wear and tear over time. Then it was time to hang the finished rack up in our closet!

DSC_0008-1To hang the rack, we actually drilled a hole in the back of the 2 x 2 where a nail head could go after being nailed into the wall. The rack itself isn’t too heave so it works pretty well. There’s a space behind our closet door that is the perfect size for a couple of these hanging racks, and after seeing how well this works I’m going to make one for my scarf collection that lives in the dresser in our guest room… And then we got to hanging some ties!

For just under $14 for 2 organization racks, I’m sold. Easily one of the least expensive items we’ve done to date.

DSC_0009-1We’re really happy with how this turned out, and I am already in the process of making another… for all of my darling scarves… I know Josh has more ties somewhere, I just have to find them now… Which brings me to our next project series, Operation: Closet Organization

closet 1DSC_0031Because let’s face it. They’ve kind of gotten away from us lately. And when there are people out there with closets like this:

2a2a658fb270cd6860f01d6a704d2e34

source

and this:

51cfaa48500a8b4c1bbdfa6b5ec7d946

source

It kind of gets my organizational juices flowing! Consider me a girl on a mission. To de-clutter and get our house organized – before we trap ourselves in the house for the winter…

Our DIY tie rack was only the first step in my master plan… muhahahaha… next up on the docket is tackling our wonderfully cozy master closet! I’m hoping for a grand transformation, so stay tuned for all the twists and turns in our organizational adventure!

What last minute projects do you folks have lined up for the fall? Any small closet organizational tips for us out there? We’d love to hear them! Until then, you can find me at The Container Store!

Show Off Thursday
5 thoughts on “Mission: Organization

  1. Wow! Looks great! I’m going to have to get Rob to make a couple of these for us! Are you going to share your scarf version? We’d love to see that too!

    • Thanks! I do plan on sharing my scarf organizer when we do our final reveal for our master closet makeover! (!!!- Consider me excited!) Thanks for stopping by, I’d love to see your tie rack if you make one! Good luck!

  2. Pingback: Cleaning out the Closets | joyosphere

Leave a Reply

