Getting the hang of it!

gallery wall icon

There’s no denying it. We love to have pictures around the house. The problem? I don’t want to spend an arm and a leg on picture frames, you know what I mean? But how else are we to show off our precious memories?

Remember way back when we created a bench from an old kitchen cabinet? And how I said that I would like to put some sort of “gallery wall” above it, because it was kind of… empty…? Well. I’m happy to say that we finally got around to getting it done started this week! (Do we jump around enough for you? I think I have ADD…. oooh shiny!)

frames before

How did I start our cute little entryway gallery wall? With a random trip to Big Lots while Levi was at the groomer having his curly hair shaved off for summer (cue sniffles…). While at Big Lots I scored 4 frames for under $20. Wahoo! Now, they didn’t match what-so-ever, but I liked the detail of the frames and how they looked together with a couple I already had on hand.

frames before 01

The next step was to simply paint them all the same color. What color you ask? Well, classic white of course! After taking out the glass, I used a can of semi-gloss white paint from Rustoleum that I had just laying around the house (since I collect spray paint and all… kidding! But only a little…) to paint them all the same shade of white.

frames after

We did three coats of paint, to make sure everything was nice and evenly covered. But once it was all dry from laying out in the sun, we brought all of the picture frames in and put their glass inserts back in, as well as a few of our favorite snapshots.

floor layout

Then it was layout time. Trying to figure out the best way to hang pictures in a group isn’t an easy task, but I think it turned out all right. All I did was lay them out on the floor in front of the wall and just arranged and re-arranged the frames until I got something that I liked.

Once we decided on a layout that worked, we got to work hanging them on the wall. Which is a little easier said than done to be honest, because I like to do it the old fashioned way and I don’t mind putting holes in the wall… sorry, Josh!

But of course, once they were up, I changed things up a little bit, and added another frame, and the result looks pretty darn great if I say so myself…

view 1And there’s still plenty more room to add on to as time goes on, which I think is key. If you remember, the space used to look like this before we added our mini-gallery:

old viewA little plain Jane for me, so I’m super glad that we finally got this little project knocked out!

entry view 2

For $20, a little elbow grease, and couple holes later, this little beauty was well worth it! And Josh seems to approve of it as well = bonus! Gallery wall on a budget, what’s not to like?!

What have you guys been hanging lately? Any attempts at grouping photos for a “gallery” effect?

(function(i,s,o,g,r,a,m){i[‘GoogleAnalyticsObject’]=r;i[r]=i[r]||function(){
(i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o),
m=s.getElementsByTagName(o)[0];a.async=1;a.src=g;m.parentNode.insertBefore(a,m)
})(window,document,’script’,’//www.google-analytics.com/analytics.js’,’ga’);

ga(‘create’, ‘UA-42540503-1’, ‘joyosphere.com’);
ga(‘send’, ‘pageview’);

7 thoughts on “Getting the hang of it!

  1. Pingback: Our Nest: The Grand Tour | joyosphere

Leave a Reply

