Mixing it up!

 

mixing it up!

What a weekend! I don’t know about you folks, but we had a blast with our little fur-baby up in Michigan this Memorial Day weekend! We can’t wait to get back up there to go to the lake after our big party (more on that later…), but we won’t get into all of that here…

What I do want to get into however is our bed… I mean the covers, silly! You see, a while back I bought this absolutely gorgeous duvet from West Elm that I have been drooling over since January, so that I could switch up our room whenever I wanted!

img71o

I was super lucky to find it in a king on clearance at our local West Elm for cheapy-cheap (it’s still over $100 on their website!) but we didn’t want to dole out the mullah for all the pillow covers that went with the duvet… so what where we to do?

Being the DIY’er that I am, I said I would tackle custom made-pillow covers to go with our new duvet. That was almost two months ago, and it still hasn’t happened… I’ve been slacking a bit… and technically, it still hasn’t happened yet, but I have made some progress!

One of the big challenges that I faced was figuring out what kind of pattern I should go with for these new pillows, I had no idea what to pair an ikat pattern with… so I went searching. On Pinterest I stumbled upon the Holy Grail of pins – okay, maybe not THE Holy Grail, but for me it was pretty darn close:

Pattern-Mixing-101

Pattern mixing!! Holy mackerel! It’s a miracle! I can’t tell you how many times I could have used this bad boy in the past! I guess this was one of those things that I never really learned that you could do- sayonara matchy-matchy fabrics, your days in our house are numbered!

It’s so simple- Geometric + Organic + Small Scale – That’s it! And it works for everything!

With this one little pin, I have been cured of my pattern mixing fears forever! Time to start pairing some patterned fabrics, starting with our new duvet! I’m really excited to get rolling on this project now, thanks, Hunted Interiors, you really saved my hiney on this one!

And now to search feverishly for some awesome new fabric to make some pillow covers with… I’m hoping to get all of these bad boy done for next week, so stay tuned for the reveal! It’s gonna be good! You can check out how I make my pillow covers here!

What do you guys have in the works for this week? Ever feel like you’re being pulled in a million different directions when creating, some days I think I have DIY ADHD…

(function(i,s,o,g,r,a,m){i[‘GoogleAnalyticsObject’]=r;i[r]=i[r]||function(){
(i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o),
m=s.getElementsByTagName(o)[0];a.async=1;a.src=g;m.parentNode.insertBefore(a,m)
})(window,document,’script’,’//www.google-analytics.com/analytics.js’,’ga’);

ga(‘create’, ‘UA-42540503-1’, ‘joyosphere.com’);
ga(‘send’, ‘pageview’);

3 thoughts on “Mixing it up!

    • I felt as though I had all the answers to life’s big questions once I found this gem! Okay, maybe I’m exaggerating a bit… but still, it was such a useful pin! Now all that’s left is to put those pillows together!

  1. Pingback: Pillow Talk | joyosphere

Leave a Reply

