For the times they are a-changin’

Remember way back when (you know, last week) that I announced that some changes were a-comin’ to our happy little joyosphere? Well, I am super excited that the first part of our big update is here! That’s right folks, we have a new and improved “about” page that is hot of the presses this morning!

You might be wondering why we made the change…. well, to be completely honest, I didn’t feel as though that page reflected the direction that we are taking this blog. It was a little vague. And when I say vague, I meant total snooze fest in a fall-asleep-on-your-desk-drooling-in-the-middle-of-class sort of way. Let’s take a look shall we?

about

Perfectly fine for a little fish blog in a big, big, ocean that is the internet. I was content with the way it sounded and didn’t dive too deep into who we were while we were still deciding on what direction we wanted to take joyosphere. Now that we have a more informed idea about what joyosphere is, and will be, we needed to freshen things up a bit starting with our about page.

I had an idea about how I wanted this page to look and feel- I wanted it to represent more of who I am as a person and reflect more of my quirks and to all of you lovely people. It needed a little more light-heartedness to it. More depth, but less seriousness. A balancing act.

I think it worked. After a couple of weeks (or more) of sweating it out and fine-tuning it, I think I may have finally hit the nail on the head with this one (pun intended for all of you DIYers out there!)! So here it is, the new and improved “about” page:

our love

Hey there! Hi!

I’m Audra, and that there is my good lookin’ husband, Josh, and I am super stoked that you found our joyful little corner of the world- joyosphere!

We’re just a couple of newly-wed, twenty-something, do-it-yourself-ers learning and loving what it means to be homeowners and sharing our story- the good, the bad, and the ugly- with all of you wonderful people as we make this place our own!

RRA3951

Behind the curtain:

I have always loved to create things for as long as I can remember- I even wanted to be an “ah-tist” when I was a wee little lass. I feel as though I have been surrounded by such incredible family members my whole life who believed in “doing it yourself” and that I inherited that wonderful trait from them.

wee lass

I am a librarian by day, and crafter by night. Joyosphere started as a way for me to have that creative outlet that I desperately needed as well as a medium to share our happenings with our friends and family around the globe without having to pick up a phone.

But joyosphere has grown into something beyond what I could have ever imagined that it would become- turns out- there’s a whole community of DIYers out there, happy to hang around and join in on the fun! I truly believe that it’s you guys- our dear followers and lovely readers- that make this one of the most rewarding DIY projects I have started! You are all so wonderful and supportive, we wouldn’t be here without you!

about engagement collage

A little history lesson:

Now, when we say newly-weds, we mean it! Josh and I were married in December of 2012! That’s right, that’s just a few short months ago! It was a beautiful winter wedding with plenty of DIY, white powdery snow and just a few family and friends in attendance. Few as in 35 people few. It was a perfect day.

About wedding collage

Josh still loves to tell the story about how a friend shouted from the back row “Don’t talk with your mouth full!” as our pastor pronounced us husband a wife! What a guy! (pssst… you can see more pictures of our wedding HERE…)

The inside scoop:

  • I graduated from a very small liberal arts college… perhaps you’ve heard of Ohio Wesleyan University? Go Bishops!
  • Josh’s birthday is the day before mine (makes for easy planning… am I right?)
  • We didn’t take your typical tropical honeymoon…. we opted for something a little more “us”… so we went to Washington D.C.!
  • We absolutely love living in Columbus, there’s really not another place like it if you ask us- we’re not biased at all (wink wink)! But Grand Rapids is a close second for us…
  • I would eat a Cadbury Creme Egg every day of the year if I were able to…
  • We have a total of a total of six laptops/computers between just the two of us… I married an IT guy… that also explains why we have a server under the couch in our office…
  • I use books only slightly less than I use oxygen… and I don’t know if I will ever finish the reading list that I have started…
  • We enjoy traveling to new places and experiencing new things, but we absolutely love being able to enjoy our home to the fullest!

So… what now?

For some oldies but goodies, these were a few of my favorite posts:

And if you want to keep tabs on this roller coaster we call “life” you can subscribe to us or find us at any of these places online:

We’re so excited about where this blog is going, we might just wet our pants! Okay, just kidding about that part, but we are so very excited about joyosphere and where it might take us in the future! So buckle your seat belt, because you’re in for one heck of a ride!

—————–

What an improvement, right?! While I loved our old page, this one just seems to be so much more representative to who we are. Maybe that’s because it’s a tad bit longer than the last, maybe it’s just more relaxed, who knows! Be sure to check it out in all of it’s glory here, on it’s brand spanking new page! Wahoo!

What have you guys been up to this past week? Anything you’ve freshened up in the blogosphere or at home? Fill me in, I’m looking for my next DIY subject…

(function(i,s,o,g,r,a,m){i[‘GoogleAnalyticsObject’]=r;i[r]=i[r]||function(){
(i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o),
m=s.getElementsByTagName(o)[0];a.async=1;a.src=g;m.parentNode.insertBefore(a,m)
})(window,document,’script’,’//www.google-analytics.com/analytics.js’,’ga’);

ga(‘create’, ‘UA-42540503-1’, ‘joyosphere.com’);
ga(‘send’, ‘pageview’);

4 thoughts on “For the times they are a-changin’

  1. Ahhhh! I love the new “About” page, Audra. It’s chock full of your voice and so much play…and I love how you refer to your blog as a D.I.Y. project in and of itself. I never thought of it like that before, but it’s totally true.

    As you know, I put off revamping my About page for an embarrassingly long amount of time, so I give you major props for putting the time and effort into crafting this page so early on. It really will help your readers forge a stronger connection with joyosphere. Because I believe that people follow people, not blogs. And I’m so glad to be along for your journey!

    • Thanks so much Lauren! I think it definitely reflects who I am a whole lot better! Hopefully everyone will be able to relate to it a little bit better- my last one was a little bit vague….
      I’m so glad that you’re along for the ride! Goodness knows, you’ve been quite the inspiration for us and have encouraged us to keep on keepin’ on!

Leave a Reply

