Project: Pinspiration!

I have a confession to make… lately I have been coveting entry way storage benches… like, a lot. Everywhere we go, whenever we spot one I rush towards it with my fingers crossed, hoping it will fit in our house. But to no avail (this seems to be a running theme when it comes to decor in our house…). And Pinterest certainly isn’t helping my addiction… tantalizing my dreams with beauties like these:

Grain Bin Storage Bench - Pottery Barn

Storage Bench with Baskets - Brookstone

“rough luxe” - Lisa Kauffman Tharp

See what I mean? Goodness! They’re each so beautiful, it would give bench envy to any girl! Personally, I’m partial to the middle guy… easy access to storage if anyone is taking a seat to put on shoes in our entry way. Although I love the thought of being able to tuck everything away out of sight… ahh excuse me, my neat freak is showing…

So with these images as our start point, I whipped out our measuring tape and have been putting together some plans to put together our own personal entry bench based on this set of plans from Chief’s Shop.

198b04ef8f912515f2972ebb52e0d4b2

Realistically, I would like ours to be a little different from the original drawing. For instance, I would like to use a more traditional leg to support the bench rather than what the drawing calls for as well as making a custom cushion from all of that leftover fabric from my grandmother. And it would be stained a deep, rich chocolatey brown to go with our coffee and console tables…

As a DIYer at heart, I would love to be able to build this puppy myself, but I will definitely be looking for any tips and tricks of the trade that are out there, as well as brainstorming with some of the pro’s- aka my husband and father.

The good news here is we’ve got the plans to make it happen! Now we just have to gather our materials and tackle this bad boy! Huzzah! And don’t worry, I’ll be sure to include how it all went down for you guys in the coming weeks… yes, weeks. I am a newbie at this after all! Do you guys have any plans in the works? Maybe something Pinterest inspired? Or know any tricks of the trade out there for this woodworking newbie?

Storage Entry Bench

PSST! I don’t know about you, but as an OWU alumna, I am pretty stoked about this new movie- 42– featuring another OWU alum, Branch Rickey (played be Harrison Ford!!), who is best known for signing the first African American baseball player, Jackie Robinson, to a major league team, the Brooklyn Dodgers. Makes me proud to be a Bishop!

(function(i,s,o,g,r,a,m){i[‘GoogleAnalyticsObject’]=r;i[r]=i[r]||function(){
(i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o),
m=s.getElementsByTagName(o)[0];a.async=1;a.src=g;m.parentNode.insertBefore(a,m)
})(window,document,’script’,’//www.google-analytics.com/analytics.js’,’ga’);

ga(‘create’, ‘UA-42540503-1’, ‘joyosphere.com’);
ga(‘send’, ‘pageview’);

3 thoughts on “Project: Pinspiration!

  1. Woah! I’m so impressed that you’re going to tackle this yourselves. I can’t wait to read about your process and see what you and your creative self come up with. It’s going to be fabulous, I know it!

    • Thank you, Lauren! I must admit, I’m a little nervous- I’ve never undertaken something quite so big, but who knows what we can do with a little “can-do” attitude! 🙂

  2. Pingback: A Better Bench | joyosphere

Leave a Reply

