No peanuts, please!

Seriously, who would have thought- No Bake cookies with no peanut butter! We’re sold.

Since I’m allergic to peanuts and Josh definitely isn’t, I always feel a bit guilty since we can’t keep things like peanut butter in the house. Bummer.

But, do not despair! We have found a replacement much, much better option! Nutella*! For people like us, it was a Godsend. Especially when it comes to baking. Which brings us to today’s post- No Bake Nutella Cookies!

These days I’m a Nutella fiend- being on my best behavior to not eat it directly from the jar… on most days… I am always on the lookout for a good Nutella recipe and I believe I struck gold with this one- just by swapping Nutella for peanut butter in my mom’s recipe- and Josh wholeheartedly approves as well!!

ingredients

Here’s how it’s done:

  • 2 cups of sugar
  • 1 stick of butter
  • 1/2 cup of milk
  • 2 tbsp of cocoa powder
  • 3 cups of oats
  • 1 cup of Nutella
  • 1 tbsp of vanilla

Combine sugar, butter, milk, and cocoa powder in a sauce pan on high heat, stirring so it doesn’t stick to the pot. Bring the contents to a boil for at least one minute.

step by step

Remove the saucepan from heat and add the oats, Nutella, and vanilla. Stir quickly to incorporate all of the ingredients.

While the mixture is still warm, drop spoonfuls onto wax or parchment paper. The cookies will set as they cool.

cooling

——–

I made this on Sunday afternoon, and the cookies are nearly gone- they are that delicious! These cookies will be a definite staple in our home from now on!

What have you guys been baking lately? Anything delicious made with Nutella? Or am I the only one out there who would be just dandy eating it straight out of the jar- as unladylike as it would be… I’m telling you, if you enjoy Nutella, you will most certainly enjoy these!

*Back in 2006, Peanut Oil was removed from the recipe to make it safe for those of us with peanut allergies. Hallelujah! But please,please, please, if you have a nut allergy, check with your doctor first to see if it is safe for you as well!

(function(i,s,o,g,r,a,m){i[‘GoogleAnalyticsObject’]=r;i[r]=i[r]||function(){
(i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o),
m=s.getElementsByTagName(o)[0];a.async=1;a.src=g;m.parentNode.insertBefore(a,m)
})(window,document,’script’,’//www.google-analytics.com/analytics.js’,’ga’);

ga(‘create’, ‘UA-42540503-1’, ‘joyosphere.com’);
ga(‘send’, ‘pageview’);

5 thoughts on “No peanuts, please!

  1. YUM! Nutella makes me happy in so many ways…and clearly, it does for you, too! I’m actually gearing up to bake French Apple Crisp for a dinner we’re going to tonight at a friend’s house. The hard part will be waiting until later to dig in. Perhaps I can console myself with my jar of Nutella (we always keep one on hand). 🙂

    • Yes, I definitely love my Nutella, but those Apple Crisps sound amazing! Perfect for the rainy day we’re having up here! Will you be posting the recipe by any chance?

      • Hadn’t thought of it…but that’d be a great one to share because I don’t think it’s out there in internet land. It’s an old family-recipe. Maybe in the fall as the holidays near? (Can you tell I’m looking for excuses to put it off right now? Ha ha.)

  2. Pingback: Bring on the Pumpkin! | joyosphere

Leave a Reply

